The Geological Society of Washington founded 1893

DRAFT MINUTES
Annual Meeting of the Society
December 6, 2023

The 131st Annual Meeting of the Society was called to order at 9:15 P.M. by President Kori Newman following her presidential address, Geoscience Applications Supporting Improvements to Landmine Detection Systems.

Reports

Council Secretary

Beth Doyle reported that the GSW Council held a hybrid meeting on December 4th; attendance was excellent. Council approved the minutes of the last council meeting. Discussion centered around ways to increase membership. A motion was made and accepted to have a dedicated social media and outreach committee. It was also agreed to have a dedicated Graybook Revision committee. Council approved the slate of officers and the meeting dates. The current planning for 2024 meeting formats is for the Bradley Lecture and the President's Address/Annual Meeting to be hybrid. The rest will be either virtual or in-person. Meeting locations will be primarily at the Cosmos Club. A least one, in April will be at the Carnegie Institution for Science. This April meeting is tentatively set to be a student showcase with posters or lightning talks to draw in new members and entice them with monetary awards.

Meeting Secretary

Graham Lederer reported the following statistics of the ten meetings of the Society in 2023:

	min.	mean	max.
attendees	30	46.6	62
guests	O	7.8	18
announcements	O	1	2
informal			
comm.	O	0.4	1
questions	6	13	24
length (min.)	91	105.5	122

The format of four meetings were in-person, three were held virtually and the remaining three were hybrid. Mike Purucker took the honors of Grand Inquisitor, narrowly beating out Larry Meinert. Lederer said that if question uniqueness was weighted, then Purucker extends his lead and other questioners, like Kori Newman climb in the ranks.

Treasurer

Mark Fuhrmann reported the finances of the Society for the fiscal year ending June 30th, 2023, as follows:

Total Income	\$12,805.00	
Costs		
Meetings	7,627.30	
Speaker Dinners	1,439.34	
Bradley Lecture	486.00	
Awards	385.00	
Insurance	653.00	
AGI	100.00	
MSA Back-Office	3,396.45	
PayPal	303.73	
Miscellaneous	10.28	
Web Upgrade	8.72	
Total	14,409.82	
Surplus/ Deficit	-1,604.82	
Invested Funds		
Bradley Fund	79,591.24	
Endowment fund	146,729.23	
Total	226,320.47	
Bank Statement	11,533.04	

Audit Committee

Andy Campbell reported that he audited the treasurer's report and that it was found to be verifiable. Roz Helz moved that the auditor's report be adopted; this passed without objection

Membership Committee

Dan Doctor presented Sarah Penniston-Dorland's report that total members have declined slightly from 234 to 223; student members commonly do not renew; early career members have increased from 10 to 19. As a means of increasing member engagement, Doctor said that his intent as president will be to hold in-person meetings as often as possible. He will also be sending out membership renewal reminders. He thanked Penniston-Dorland for this report.

Public Service Committee

Kori Newman reported that the winner of the Northern Virginia Regional Science Fair presented her poster at the May 3rd meeting.

Awards Committee

Keith McLaughlin presented the following awards:

- The Bradley Prize for the best formal scientific talk was to Anna K. Behrensmeyer of the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History for her talk on November 8th, What is Taphonomy, and why does it matter?
- The prize for second-best formal talk was to Shoshana Weider of NASA for her talk on October 4, on Mercury Exploration: Past, Present, and Future.
- The Great Dane Award for the best informal communication to the Society of timely or newsworthy events was to Tammy Bravo of EarthScope for her update on the destructive magnitude 7.9 earthquake in Turkey.

Tim Mock presented the Sleeping Bear award for genuine good humor at meetings to Hmong-Han Huang and Ved Lekic, both of the University of Maryland. Honorable mentions were awarded to Jim Head of Brown University and Graham Lederer of the U.S. Geological Survey.

BUSINESS OF THE DAY

Nominations

Larry Meinert, as chair of the Nominations Committee, presented the following slate of officers, as approved by the Council on December 4th:

President: Dan Doctor (U.S. Geological Survey),

First Vice President: Ved Lekić (University of Maryland), Second Vice President: Mike Ackerson (Smithsonian),

Meeting Secretary: Mike Purucker (NASA Goddard),

Council Secretary: Beth Doyle (Northern Virginia Community College),

Treasurer: Mark Fuhrmann (Nuclear Regulatory Commission, ret.),

Continuing Councilor: Ioan Lascu (Smithsonian),

Continuing Councilor: Jonathan Tucker (National Academies), and Continuing Councilor: Maryann Malinconico (Lafayette College) New Councilor: Pat Carr (National Geospatial Intelligence Agency),

New Councilor: Mark Tyra (NIST), and New Councilor: Anne Pommier (Carnegie)

There were no nominations from the floor, and the slate was elected by acclamation.

The President for 2024 will be Dan Doctor (U.S. Geological Survey), elected last year as the first vice-president. Kori Newman (Systems & Technology Research) is on the Council as the past president.

The gavel was passed to President Doctor, who closed the meeting at 9:57 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth O. Doyle,

Council Secretary